“Oh, my deer! No offense, but you need Irish Spring!”

Anything to Eat?

Anything to Eat?

The snow is gone and the deer graze, fortunately, outside the back yard fence. Unfortunately, the front yard sprouts are vulnerable to their nibbles.

squeaky Clean Tulip Greens

Squeaky Clean Tulip Greens

Those white clumps among the tulip greens are pieces of Irish Spring soap. For some reason, deer don’t like the pungent odor of the cleansing bar. I also hung a couple of bars on the magnolia tree, because the deer like to munch the budding flowers. Who wouldn’t? The buds have yet to emerge, but I thought I’d get an early start at deterring my wild neighbors from partying in my front yard.

The first spring blossom is a rebirth for me as well as a rebirth for the flower, and I dance as soon as I see that very first explosion of vivid color. So, it’s important that the deer find something else to snack on. The flower catalogs specify which flowers deer won’t eat. Unfortunately, deer can’t read.

Because I have the flu and unable to hike on these spring days, or do much really, the Aussie is bored.

Born To Be Wild!

Born To Be Wild!

She’s also an actress.

"Alright Mr. DeMille, I'm ready for my close-up."

“Alright Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up.”

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone.

And Happy to Ya!

Dana

About Dana J Dewey

I was a slow learner as a child and to overcome my fear of school, as an adult I attended many of them. I ended up with a master of science degree in counseling psychology and I'm a licensed mental health counselor who is passionate about mental health. This blog is about life, joy, and the pursuit of good mental health, and the eclectic way in which it's achieved. I'm blogging a memoir, The Tail Gunner's Daughter, and later, Parent-Able: Seven Strategies for Raising a Physically Disabled Child Without Going Insane.
This entry was posted in Feature articles, Gardening, nature, Photography, psychology of life, stories, Uncategorized, wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

