Dad could have been a Muppet!

As mentioned on my about page, I’ve been gasping for time. I was helping out with my Dad and his broken foot. He is unable to bear weight on it, so he sits a lot. I washed his gray, Einstein-like hair the other day (he needs a barber)English: Albert Einstein Français : Portrait d...and in doing that it reminded me of how much he looks like the old geezers in the Muppet Show, you know, the ones who sit in the balcony and criticize the show.

there´s no time like show time

there´s no time like show time (Photo credit: -sel)

Could have been on the Muppet Show!

Could have been on the Muppet Show!

He is doing better, but says he’s bored. At least he has a great view of the lake while he sits in a chair with his cast leg up.

The View

The View

My sister sent dad a small model airplane kit to assemble to keep him occupied. He has had a lifelong interest in airplanes. He’s an RC float plane enthusiast as long as he has an instructor handy. “I don’t like to take off or land the things, but I’ll fly one for a while.” He once had aspirations to be a pilot in WWII, but that’s a story for a later post.

Dad’s pretty goofy, and it’s this goofy attitude that keeps him laughing, albeit, mostly at himself. He’s politically incorrect, a dirty old man, screws up every joke he tells, and goes by the name “Dirty Dewey.” Draw your own conclusions! Even though he has no verbal filters, I love him anyway. He’s my Dad!

About Dana J Dewey

I was a slow learner as a child and to overcome my fear of school, as an adult I attended many of them. I ended up with a master of science degree in counseling psychology and I'm a licensed mental health counselor who is passionate about mental health. This blog is about life, joy, and the pursuit of good mental health, and the eclectic way in which it's achieved. I'm blogging a memoir, The Tail Gunner's Daughter, and later, Parent-Able: Seven Strategies for Raising a Physically Disabled Child Without Going Insane.
This entry was posted in Family, Feature articles, health, Humor, psychology of life, Staying mentally healthy, stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

