America The Beautiful

Near Worley, Idaho

Outside the small town of Worley, Idaho.

From Idaho, to Hawaii, to Arizona, to California, to Washington and beyond, America is beautiful. In “A Gunner’s Tale” series, I’ve been posting entries from my father’s WWII diary of his time as a B-17 tail gunner, and as the Fourth of July approaches, I’m reminded of why he and people like him fought, and continue to fight for this country; it’s worth fighting for.

Mt. Shasta, August 2012

Mt. Shasta, August 2012

My oldest son is in the navy, my brother served in the navy, my niece served in the navy, my nephew served as a marine and saw a tour in Afghanistan – so it runs in the family. Thank you to all military personnel, past, present, and future for your uniformed service. I was a navy spouse for 24 years, so I also applaud military spouses everywhere.

From Inside Haleakala crater, Hawaii

From Inside Haleakala crater, Hawaii

 

Cathedral Rock, Arizona

Cathedral Rock, Arizona

 

The American Flag stands for freedom;

American flagred means courage, white means purity, and blue means justice. Sometimes we stray from these meanings because as people, we’re flawed. But the American flag is not.

About Dana J. Dewey

I was a slow learner as a child and to overcome my fear of school, as an adult I attended many of them. I ended up with a master of science degree in counseling psychology and I'm a licensed mental health counselor who is passionate about mental health. This blog is about life, joy, and the pursuit of good mental health, and the eclectic way in which it's achieved. I'm blogging a memoir, The Tail Gunner's Daughter, and later, Parent-Able: Seven Strategies for Raising a Physically Disabled Child Without Going Insane.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Family, Feature articles, history, military, Photography, Spirituality, Travel, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to America The Beautiful

  1. David Heath says:

    Hi Dana,
    You may remember me.
    I have just finished reading your, “A Gunner’s Tale.” and some other blogs.
    Your writing is wonderful.
    My youngest daughter, Laurie, was married last Summer at her mother-in-law’s cabin on Coeur d’Alene.
    It seems you have a rather interesting life going on for you.
    I may try to stop by someday when I am in the area.
    This Fall there is a Lions’ Multiple District convention in Spokane. I think it is in October.
    I have been working at CWU for over 30 years now and my wife says I will retire,
    My earliest date is July 6th this summer. I may stay longer if my work environment changes to what it was like even 15 years ago when it was fun to work there. That is highly unlikely to happen, but I may work through July if a fire alarm installation takes place.
    Keep up the great writing.
    Cheers,
    David

    Like

    • Dana J Dewey says:

      Hey, Dave! of course I remember you! Great to hear from you and that you’re enjoying the blog. Thank you for the wonderful compliment. Retire? Isn’t it amazing how time gets sucked into the atmosphere and evaporates? I’m in that later category for retirement; somewhere around age 80! Yes, let me know when you’ll be in town. Best of luck with the job decision. Sometimes a man has to listen to his wife! 😀

      Like

  2. Tamela says:

    You share interesting things here. I think that your page can go
    viral easily, but you must give it initial boost and i know
    how to do it, just search in google for – mundillo traffic
    increase go viral

    Like

  3. gpcox says:

    Beautiful photos and sentiment to show your patriotism! Have a wonderful Fourth!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

